Sleepy Hollow Farm, Pomfret Vermont

For much of the year, you can find your way up Cloudland Road and explore Pomfret Vermont. But in the autumn this area can really come to life with country dirt roads lined with farms and the fall colors can be spectacular.

One place that has been over-hyped is the Sleepy Hollow Farm in Pomfret Vermont. Normally I would give you a point out to this location but because so many people have come to visit, the town of Pomfret took the extraordinary action to close Cloudland Road for much of October. (they did it first in 2023 and I “believe” they will do it again in 2024)

The problem is that people don’t seem to realize that places like this are people’s private homes and if people would have just stopped for a minute talent their picture and left, they would not have closed the road. People from around the world journey here to see this home but they don’t respect it. They hang out, they leave trash (or worse) and they even walk down the “PRIVATE” driveway Just to get the social media perfect shot…

Nearby is the Marsh-Billings National Historic Park and they are a commercial business that can handle the traffic and visitors (they welcome it), Heck, visit the town of Woodstock, with its covered bridge and lovely shops. I’m slowly removing directions from my websites to private homes. Below are some of the last autumn shots you will see from Cloudland Road and the Sleepy Hollow Farm.

Note to visitors wanting to visit the farm or anyplace along Cloudland Road. The town or Pomfret has closed the road from 23 September to 15 October 2023 due to misbehaving visitors who block the road and trespass on the property I think we’ll see this in 2024 as well.

This was a foggy morning and I wasn’t sure what I would get when I got here. I was unsure if the sun would cut through the fog that was pretty thick when we got off I-89 at Quechee Vermont.

As we started to travel up Cloudland Road the sun climbed over the hills to our right and this scene opened up before me. Needless to say, I had to stop and catch it. Soon we were on our way to the Sleepy Hollow Farm.

Sleepy Hollow Farm

The farm has gone from being a real working farm to now being a family homestead. It’s visited by thousands of tourists and photographers alike seeking that iconic Vermont scenic location that you see on so many calendars today.

Jeff “Foliage” Folger
You can purchase images by visiting my Fine Art Gallery websites
Join me on my social media by clicking on any of the following.

Published by Vistaphotography - Jeff Foliage

New England Photographer who travels from the scenic coastlines to the rural back roads of Vermont and down into Connecticut. If you are interested in my Fine Art gallery, you can visit it online at https://vistaphotography.pixels.com/ . I spend much of my time talking and thinking about New England fall foliage. My website for you to find out about everything autumn in New England is my https://jeff-foliage.com/ I was Yankee Magazines first fall foliage blogger but today I'm a freelance photographer and artist who writes about all the places I find during my New England travels. I have been interviewed by CBS Sunday Morning, PBS/BBC AutumnWatch, The Weather Channel, along with many radio interviews. You can find some of them here. https://www.jeff-foliage.com/foliage-videos/ If you have any questions feel free to contact me through my website or social media. On Facebook, you can find me at: https://www.facebook.com/NewEnglandFoliage/ and on Instagram you can find me at: https://www.instagram.com/jeff_foliage/ (@jeff_foliage)

Leave a comment